Dick Harmon was talking on Baylor’s…

Viewing 4 reply threads

PhiladelphiaUte
      Ute Fan
      @philadelphiaute

…”365 Sports” show, and lying through his teeth — desperately trying to make ybU-p look like they’re a major brand.  Here’s some quotes…

Stanford is a rival of BYU’s in terms of recruits.

Does Stanford know this?  I remember back when I was a student at the U — straddling our WAC/MWC years, where the zoobs were claiming they were everybody’s biggest rival.  Now they’re claiming rivalries with schools they’re not even in a conference with.  Stanford and ybU-p have met a grand total of two times, and lost both games.

The Big 12 would be better with Utah in it, but they already got the market with BYU.  The big market here in Utah is the Utah Jazz and BYU, and then the University of Utah is down the line.  Uh, that’s what the media counts and our story counts say, as far as what we do.”

Except that Dick knows full well that it’s Utah who took top billing in the state, because it was reported right there in the Deseret News.  Utah isn’t “down the line”.  ybU-p is.

They just got a transfer from Oregon.  A girl, a basketball player.  She’s playing for her mother that BYU just hired, but this girl is one of the Top 15 basketball players in the country.  She came because of the Big 12.”

Uh, nope.  She came because her mother was just hired.  Her MOM was the “X-factor” here.  Just look at her “Big 6” — Arizona, Oregon, Stanford, Utah, UCLA, and ybU-p.  If it were the “Big 12” Amari Whiting was interested in, why all the Pac-12 schools?  And for the record, she’s not even an “Oregon transfer” like Dick claimed.  She’s an “Oregon decommit”, because this girl is still in high school.  The timeline says, (1) Nov. 2, 2021 — commit to Oregon.  (2) May 18, 2022 — Amari’s mom Amber named ybU-p’s head coach.  (3) Jul. 26, 2022 — commit to ybU-p.