Any Skiers Here? Need New Skis

Viewing 6 reply threads

Tony (admin)
      Admin/Founder
      @admin

After ruining my parka I realized this black tar goo was coming out of my skis.  So I looked them up and horrifically realized my skis are 16 years old.  

I need new skis.  Not sure what to get.  I’m an expert skier and ski the groomers only when the snow conditions off trail aren’t good.  Love powder.  Any suggestions?

GameForAnyFuss
      Ute Fan
      @gameforanyfuss

What percentage of the time would you say you ski groomers vs. not? 70/30? 50/50?

Tony (admin)
        Admin/Founder
        @admin

Depends on the time of year.  This week I’d be 75% or more in the trees or powder.  In spring when the snow sucks, 90% groomers.  So all-mountain is my guess since I don’t want to buy two pairs.

GameForAnyFuss
          Ute Fan
          @gameforanyfuss

I’m an ex-racer, so my opinion on skis is somewhat tainted. I keep two pairs: One pair of powder skis for the deep days, one par of slalom race skis for groomer/mogul days…the slalom skis keep those days fun.

If I could only have one pair of skis, I’d go for something with enough sidecut to let you finish your turns on icy days (say, 16 meters or so), but with enough width to keep you on top in the powder. I’d also look for something with good edge grip so you can get away with a bit shorter ski. My single-ski choice would be the Nordica Enforcer in a 173 (I’m 5’10” 160 lb.).

Tony (admin)
            Admin/Founder
            @admin

I’m 2″ shorter and 40 pounds…. more.  LOL.   Expert skier though.  The wide ones look intriguing.  I’ll look at the Enforcer.  I just realized I’m friends with the president of Rossignol, so there’s that.

GameForAnyFuss
              Ute Fan
              @gameforanyfuss

Yeah, so whether or not you know the CEO of a major ski manufacturer would be an important thing to understand before obtaining skis. 😉 Do you think he’d hook you up?