I’d love for Utah to have a good basketball program again. I decided to attend..

Viewing 3 reply threads

UTE98
      Ute Fan
      @ute98

The U because of Majerus great basketball teams. I am an absolute huge college football fan, but love a good college basketball game. 

I watched Purdue against Illinois today, and pined for the days of Majerus, with Miller, Mottola, Doleac, Van Horn, Grant, Jensen, etc.

We’ve had some other good players come through post Majerus, Bogut, Poetl, Kuzma (wish he’d been as good in college as he is in the pros), and Wright. I loved the tenacity of Majerus 6 inch defense. Since I graduated in 98, I absolutely loved the hey day of Utah basketball. Sadly I couldn’t afford the final four, I really wish I’d had money to go to the Final Four, Sugar Bowl, and Fiesta Bowl. But I did get to the Rose Bowl. Seems I have a bit more money as my kids leave the house. I don’t pay for their college, only support them some during their first year. You get married, and you’re cut off. 

Looking forward to these next few years. Hoping Utah makes the Rose Bowl again and maybe a third time before it is absorbed in the expanded playoffs.

But watching that Purdue-Illiinois game made me long for great Utah basketball.

UtesRule
      Ute Fan
      @utesrule

Loved those days as well!

Technically Bogut was a Majerus recruit…he signed him.

I also fondly remember some guys pre-Big Rick. A few of my oldie favs include: Kelvin Upshaw (could really light it up with his beautiful stroke), Jerry Stroman, Manny Hendrix and Mitch Smith (couldn’t shoot a lick but was bar none one of the all time great rebounding machines to come through Utah).

Hoping Smith can turn things around. Hope we are patient enough to give him a real shot at it (at least 4 years).

dystopiamembrane
      Ute Fan
      @dystopiamembrane