Lowering expectations

Viewing 4 reply threads
      1 1

Dresden_Stormblessed
      Ute Fan
      @dresden

Just seeing if everyone feels the same way.

With everyone that’s declared for the draft and our misses/departures in the portal, my expectations next year are lowering. I genuinely thought we were going to hit the portal with a vengeance but I just don’t see it happening right now. Wide Receivers just don’t want to come here nor do they want to stay. This is not a WR-friendly offense (btw, humongous miss not offering Noah Fifita. He’s a legacy kid right?). I think it could be a WR-friendly offense and Vele’s performances later in the year just made me smack my head asking why tf have we not been passing to him more?

But hey, I’m a couch coach so…I get it. I know nothing. Just a humongous fan of something I have literally zero control over.

Anyway. We are thin at WR and CB imo. I don’t think CB will be a problem when it comes to the portal, especially with CPIII & Jaylon’s performance in the NFL this season. But I just don’t see that much of an answer coming at WR from the portal.

I really thought we’d already have some DOGS want to come and play with us but I’m surprised at the lack of bites as of now. We’ll see.

I’m obviously optimistic about the future but for right now, I’d say we’re a very good team (top 25 nationally) and have a few missing pieces to be top 10.

What do y’all think?

Charlie
      Ute Fan
      @charlie

A lot of good teams have more than one position that need to improve, getting down to one is not bad at all. USC and Colo have awesome WRs but have envy for our DL. Utah’s WRs need to improve but are not that far off. Still, being Utah’s featured receiver can get notice and can get drafted. I don’t expect the numbers to remain low as the QB position resets with the things lined up.

Ghost of the HEB
      Ute Fan
      @deseretgentlman