Big 10/SEC Rejects

Viewing 4 reply threads

belli1976
      Ute Fan
      @belli1976

What is preventing the Big 10 and SEC creating a true super conference by shedding their current lower tiered programs? I am total novice on conference by laws and contracts. Once a school is in a conference is their anyway to kick them out?

The BIG10 could shed Rutgers and Maryland first. Utah, UW, UO and UA bring more to the table. Then next two would be Northwestern and Minnesota.

The SEC is a tougher argument, but Vandy and Missouri would likely be the first out. And then find upgrades.

Milton Vanderslice
      Ute Fan
      @miltonvanderslice

Vandy and Northwestern offer way more in side benefits (such as access and influence in the business world) than they do on the field/court.  Very similar to Stanford in the Pac.

belli1976
        Ute Fan
        @belli1976

@Milton – valid point. If that is the case, why isn’t Vandy and Northwestern getting massive NIL deals? You could ask the same question on Stanford.

Their alumni like supporting the conference but not the schools?

Not picking a fight but that is sniff test that isn’t lining up to me.

Milton Vanderslice
          Ute Fan
          @miltonvanderslice

Why should Vandy and Northwestern invest like an upper-tier team?  They get the same payout as Georgia/Bama/tOSU.

Milton Vanderslice
            Ute Fan
            @miltonvanderslice

I dug deeper into this question, and Vandy is in the SEC for another critical reason besides their baseball natty.  

You need at least one private university in a conference since they are not subject to FOIA requests.  All negotiations, contracts, and sensitive info can be routed through Vandy.  You have no secrets if you have all public schools in a conference.  I’m sure the SEC doesn’t have anything to hide, but if they did, then Vandy is just the kind of Skull and Bones level school to take care of things for you.

2008 National Champ
          Ute Fan
          @cptmrgn05