How did YOU become a Utah fan?

Viewing 2 reply threads

leftyjace
      Ute Fan
      @leftyjace

Borrowing this from another board where I used this question to get a thread back on track. But I thought it’d be fun to do over here to.

How did you become a Ute fan?

Alumni? Neighborhood? Family?

I’ll start.

I grew up in a BYU household.
      At first I went to SLCC, but then transferred to the U.
      I was a non-traditional student, attending part-time when I could. I got accepted into the Computer Science program, but they definitely did not have a curriculum schedule that was doable as a non-traditional student, so I changed my major to Economics.
      In late 2006 my job situaton was such that I said “screw it” and took a year off to finish my Bachelors. For the entire 2007 calendar year I went more than full time up on campus as a traditional student, and graduated in December of 2007.
      Taking a year to be a traditional student and get it done really made me fall in love with the school. The campus, the environment, the Union, the library, the attitude, my fellow students… everything. And the sports. Definitely the sports.
      I loved it so much that when it was time for me to get my MBA (Executive program), I chose the U even though I could have gotten into a lot of other really good programs (710 on the GMAT). Attending the BYU program was inconceivable, and USU, Weber, and Westminster just didn’t feel right to me. I even considered the Penn weekend program out of San Francisco, as well as the Columbia-Berkeley program. But I just couldn’t see myself paying more than twice as much as what I’d pay at the U for an Executive MBA program that was rapidly rising in the ranks. Now, I look back and I’m so ridiculously glad that I stayed at Utah.
      Getting my second degree from Utah more than affirmed what I already knew – that I was a Utah Man through and through.

Anonymous
      Inactive