How good can Nate Johnson be with a week of 1st team reps?

Viewing 7 reply threads

lgt4141
      Ute Fan
      @lgt4141

I am not a football expert but how much better could Nate Johnson be with a week knowing he is the starter, getting the 1st team reps, and having a game plan built around his strengths?

As has been pointed out in Utehub the offense can’t get much worse. I am optimistic that with a Nate Johnson focused game plan the offense will look better.

22Ute22
      Ute Fan
      @utedagoat

Not much better in 2 weeks. We don’t have a legitimate QB coach, and they don’t trust him. He looked like he was playing loose in the Baylor game and now looks like he is playing nervous.

Jim Vanderhoof
      Ute Fan
      @jvhoofs

Whitt has put the turnover fear on him. Which makes him tentative. Doesn’t seem to be able to get the ball in tight spots and the receivers can’t get open and space for him to throw.

He proved he is a gamer against OSU which is a bug positive. He might surprise us all!!

bopahull
        Ute Fan
        @bopahull

I can’t put all that on Nate. There were a lot of well thrown balls that were dropped at crucial times. There were caught balls on 3rd down situations where the receiver ran his rout a couple of yards short of the sticks. Yes Nate didn’t do well but his receivers and line could have really helped him.
        I have no idea if things will improve much with more practice. I just think there is plenty of blame to go around.

chinngiskhaan
      Ute Fan
      @chinngiskhaan

We’ll see, assuming his leg is well enough to play.

Ghost of the HEB
      Ute Fan
      @deseretgentlman