I need cordless drill help (not sexual innuendo)

Viewing 7 reply threads

sweetgrass
      Ute Fan
      @sweetgrass

I’m looking to buy a cordless drill to build a deck this spring, any recommendations?

I am a cordless tool virgin.

What voltage should I be looking at, any brands I should stay away from?  I’m hearing bad things about Black And Decker and the other brands are expensive.  I’d like to stay in the $60 to $90 range  

St George Ute
      Ute Fan
      @stgeorgeute

I’m not a professional carpenter, more of a hobbyist, so take this for what it’s worth.

On voltage, I’d go with a 20 volt if you’re doing a deck. I used a 16-volt and finished a basement about 7-8 years ago, so they’re fine, though these days it seems like 20 is the standard. I like my 20 a lot better than the 16 I used to have.

Personally, I like the Porter Cable brand if you’re looking for a good mix of quality and price. You can get a cordless drill for about $90. For lots of drilling, I’d recommend an impact driver. It’s faster than a drill if you’re screwing things in to wood. That you can get for $99 at Lowe’s. For a little more, you can buy the combo pack with both ($129). I like mine and I do a lot of work around the house, including finishing a new basement.

Stay away from Black & Decker. I’ve never had a good experience with them. Craftsman (Sears) is hit and miss (my corded drill is crap, but my jigsaw is decent). Dewalt is good (even though it’s owned by the same company that makes B&D), though they are pricey. Ridgid is also a good brand (Home Depot’s own), but a little on the pricey end as well. Like I said, for a good mix of quality and low price, I buy Porter Cable.

Hope that helps!

Puget Ute
      Ute Fan
      @pugetute

If you want to stay in the $60-$90 range, just get a good drill with a nice extension cord. In fact, you can get an awesome drill for sub $50 that will crush any cordless drill in power and longevity.