Tafuna roughing

Welcome to Ute Hub Forums Utah Utes Sports Football Tafuna roughing

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
    Posts
    • #200909
      W16Ute
      Participant

      On that 4th down in the 4th quarter, Tafuna certainly was offsides but how was that roughing the passer? I’ve watched it again but the sound on my Xfinity broadcast went out for the last quarter for some reason so maybe the announcers explained something but all I can see is that he was hitting him low (might have been blocked/tackled into his legs) but I don’t know of a rule against that.

      Any insight?

    • #200913
      UrbanLiar
      Participant

      There are some limited exceptions to the general rule but it appears the call was a hit below the knees while the QB was in a throwing position.
      2014 NCAA Rule Prohibiting QB Hit Below Knees

      • #200916
        Central Coast Ute
        Participant

        Urban is correct. There is a strike zone for the QB and the call was correct since he hit him below the knees.

      • #200917
        W16Ute
        Participant

        Got it. I remember that rule in the NFL a while ago but didn’t remember it in NCAA.

        Thanks.

    • #200918
      dwainegf
      Participant

      I disagree, He was falling down after running over the center. He hit the QB above the knee much closer to the hip. The call was incorrect IMO.

      • #200938
        Dallas
        Participant

        That’s a homer take. It was a bad hit and got flagged.

        • #200941
          Central Coast Ute
          Participant

          Dallas is right. It may not have been his intention, but it doesn’t have to be intentional to be a penalty.

      • #200985
        2008 National Champ
        Participant

        The play should have been called dead the instant Tafuna made contact with the center but he got to the QB so fast, I’m not sure the whistle was blown quick enough. Definitely a penalty as Dallas and CC Ute have stated.

        • #200997
          bopahull
          Participant

          They don’t call plays dead on offside penalties. That gives the offense an opportunity to complete the play without the possibility of a negative outcome.

          • #201005
            UteThunder
            Participant

            They do if there is contact before the ball is snapped.

            • #201010
              bopahull
              Participant

              I think the ball was snapped before actual contact on that play. But you are probably correct.

              • #201016
                2008 National Champ
                Participant

                there were two flags on the play. Offsides and roughing the passer. The offsides was declined and the roughing accepted. It was bang bang but Tafuna made contact just before the ball started moving.

                TV showed it a few times and even froze it.

          • #201009
            2008 National Champ
            Participant

            Ute Thunder is correct. Offsides with contact and/or Offsides unabated to the QB, the play will be called dead.

            Even on the slo-mo replay, Tafuna got there faster than the refs could pull their flags or blow their whistles. That man was movin’

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.