Offensive Culture

Viewing 10 reply threads
      16 1

Red Rhino
      Ute Fan
      @ryanute

I have been on this board for many years and have enjoyed the various perspectives, but this is my first time posting.

I love the run first, pound it down your throat, smothering defense football that Utah has established, but the level of conservative play calling we saw on Saturday is dangerous for a program. Whether we like the entertainment as fans or not, the conservative style of play may certainly affect a recruit’s impression of the team culture. Setting up this level of conservativism is dangerous because, if I am a 4 star quarterback visiting the Utah v UCLA game I would think, “why would I want to come here so I can hand the ball off 90% of the time”. Receivers might say, “why would I come here so I can block every play.” I am very grateful we have Whittingham, but sometimes Whit is a little too good at taking “one game at a time”. Sometimes, as a coach you must look past the next game so you can invest in the future of your current and future players. Beyond the fumbles, what has Nate Johnson done to warrant the lack of trust? He has been fairly accurate and has not thrown an interception yet. How can he improve if he doesn’t get an opportunity? How can he play loose and to his full potential with such tight reigns? What message does that send to future quarterbacks?

I shouldn’t complain. I have a been a true fan since the 80’s when we were terrible. We have come so far since then and Whittingham deserves a lot of credit for that. I’m just so frustrated that our wins are so unsatisfying sometimes.

The Miami Ute
      Ute Fan
      @themiamiute

Welcome…I really like your handle.

UrbanLiar
      Ute Fan
      @urbanliar