Okay, so as always I’m giving my streaming/tech input… SlingTV and Football

Viewing 6 reply threads

UTE98
      Ute Fan
      @ute98

With the season starting tonight I opted for two prepaid months of SlingTV last night. I did quite a bit of homework on SlingTV and the main complaint I saw for the past two years was buffering. And I’ve got some experience trying out new setups and devices.

I ALWAYS take a streaming device when i travel, usually four to five times a year. I’ve tried just streaming to an iPad using basic hotel wifi. It always seemed to buffer on Hulu/Netflix so I decided, I’ll try my AppleTV, and again, lots and lots of buffering. I’d almost given up, when I bought an Amazon FireTV Stick, and thought, it’s small, I’ll give it one more shot.

The Amazon FireTV stick worked like a charm. After it worked i did some more research and it basically works better because it requires a smaller amount of bandwidth to stream, I can’t remember the exact numbers but it was like 2/3 of the AppleTV, which yes results in a bit lower quality picture, but I’ve not really noticed the difference and I’ll take a bit of a picture downgrade to avoid buffering.