Why not “open” the playbook & iron out the kinks before facing formidable teams?

Viewing 4 reply threads
      3 1

SalUteopia
      Ute Fan
      @saluteopia

I’m relatively new to the world of football, and often hear about waiting to “open” the playbook until you play a formidable opponent. I grew up watching a different sport, and never heard of anything like this. No matter the level of competition, you played your A game.

I somewhat understand the underlying reason, but is it really that big of an advantage? Why not use the lesser games to iron out the kinks and better the execution? So the opponent will have tape on it, but is it better than not having a command of those plays?

This is a long-winded way of asking if the USC game outcome would be different had we opened the playbook in previous games. Would our O be more crisp? Would the OL be gelling more? Does the Brumfield fumble still happen?

Yes, we had some miscues on the D and USC had freak WRs, but if not for the RZ issues, we still have a great chance. How much of it was related to executing the saved plays?

Maybe save some “wrinkles” and gadget plays, but it feels like we’d be better off honing the O before playing the big teams. Especially in a year like this, and against a dimwit coach like Helton.

I could be way off on this one, but interested to know your thoughts.

Also, bye weeks suck (from a fan’s perspective). Weekends feel incomplete without Utah football.

EagleMountainUte
      Ute Fan
      @battlegroundute

I am of the opinion that you should lineup and put forth your best effort and beat teams. Offense you just lineup and say try and stop us.

Defensively I don’t like giving up more than you need to. It is better to introduce wrinkles and different looks to confuse quarterbacks week to week. 

SalUteopia
        Ute Fan
        @saluteopia