Cam missed radio show today

Viewing 6 reply threads

ProudUte
      Ute Fan
      @proudute

because he was still in physical therapy.

I don’t know a lot about knee injuries so I have a question. Would he be doing PT if he was going to have ACL surgery? Or did he already have surgery and I had not heard?

Ute95
      Ute Fan
      @utejones67

According to OnlyU (he seems like he knows what he is talking about), Cam had surgery a couple of days ago as stated in a previous post.

Tony (admin)
        Admin/Founder
        @admin

Starting rehab a couple of days after surgery seems a little soon? I’m not a doctor though. Just a fan board admin. 

2008 National Champ
          Ute Fan
          @cptmrgn05

depends on what was actually worked on. I think the general rule is you immobilize bone repairs but for Ligament/Tendon/Muscle, you want to be active without overdoing it. And the sooner the better

ironman1315
            Ute Fan
            @ironman1315

My dad had a complete knee replacement. He was up and walking in days and in pt shortly thereafter and he’s 67. 

2008 National Champ
              Ute Fan
              @cptmrgn05

I actually had a longer post that mentioned knee and hip replacements but thought it would cloud the issue since those are structural. Everyone I’ve met who has gotten a replacement says that they make you stand as soon as you come out of the anasthesia (sic?) to prove that you are structurally sound.

I had a complete tear of the ligaments in my left ankle in college. Idiot doctor had me sit on the couch for a month and not put any weight on it. Developed a plantar’s flex and needed 6 months of PT before the scar tissue broke and I got most of my speed back. Still walk with a slight limp because I’ve never been able to get full extension. So I’m a big proponent of do as much as you can as soon as you can, but be smart about it.

RedUte14
      Ute Fan
      @redute14