I’m a SE Michigan nurse

Viewing 4 reply threads
      5 11

ABC123
      Ute Fan
      @canuhearme

I’m going to share my experiences with what’s going on in SE michigan. Please forgive grammar dt me typing this on my phone.

Hospital clinics have, essentially, been shut down. Family members can’t see their loved ones or advacate/discuss options of care being given to their loved ones. From my experiences working covid icu every patient was late 50s+ and had many comorbities (diabetes, chorionic kidney disease, immune compromised). I’ve saw a couple patients removed from ventilators and they were the lucky ones.

being ventilated is pretty much a death sentence. As mentioned above, elderly sick patients don’t have family to advocate for them and most of them are elderly with many ailments and go along with what the medical care team tells them.

Some of these patients didn’t need to be ventilated and it was pushed on them bc that’s the norm and what everyone is being told to do. Some of these patients whose spo2 weren’t elevating The doctors were pretty much writing them off. When I asked the docs why aren’t they using hydroxychloroquine, azithromiacin and zinc, they laughed it off and said they’re not doing that.

think what you want about President Trump, but why not at least try it? Instead it’s ventilate the patient if sats are trending down, sedate with propifol, push antibiotic IV and hope for the best. Every option was not used to try and save people. Hell, vitamin C wasn’t even used.

i work at the Ann Arbor VA. We started taking non-vets to lighten the load of Detroit hospitals. Now this is just my personal experience with this so take it for what it’s worth. We were given the sickest patients that needed to be ventilated and were essentially the most expensive for hospitals to maintain. The VA was abused by these hospitals and I don’t blame them since they can’t make money dt being forced to shut all clinics down in their hospitals.