Receiver corp and coach Holliday

Viewing 3 reply threads

astUTE
      Ute Fan
      @astute

I am no expert on this topic, but base my comments on what I see…

I have several friends who praise coach Holliday for the progress he has made with the receiver corp.  In particular, they point to the increase in star ratings of the recruits since he has been at Utah.  They are right, however, my frustration is that his group, other than Covey, do not live up to those start ratings on the field.

Serious questions for those of you out there that have more expertise in this area:  Is Holliday really doing the job, are we really getting better?  Is he recruiting well, but failing to develop players?

And is there a reason that when Mendenhall left BYU, Holliday was the only member of his staff that wasn’t extended an offer at Virginia?

gothamute
      Ute Fan
      @gothamute

We poached him while Bronco was still TDS HC

chinngiskhaan
      Ute Fan
      @chinngiskhaan

I guess I don’t understand the shade that is thrown on Holiday. Yes, The WR group is still a weakness, but they are clearly far and away better now than when ARod was the WR coach. We complain about drops now, but it used to be soooo much worse.

Charlie Foxtrot
      Ute Fan
      @charliefoxtrot

I’m willing to bet that a good portion of the non-production from the receivers was due largely to scheme and play calling by Troy Taylor.  Add in a QB like Huntley who can be unpredictible when choosing to break out of the pocket and you probably have some additional production issues just due to it being a broken play (obviously some of these go in your favor).