Worst Loss of the Smith Era

Viewing 5 reply threads
      1 1

The Miami Ute
      Ute Fan
      @themiamiute

Playing at home against a bad team (who was coming off losses at home to both Cal and Stanford and on a five game losing streak), in a game that you desperately needed to have to remain within touching distance of a tournament berth, and you lay an egg. Just frustrating. Hard to see how Utah picks up enough wins in the remaining seven games, five of which are away, to make it to the Dance. I guess that they can always win the PAC tournament but I have a better chance of hitting Powerball numbers than that happening.

1 3

beaslad
      Ute Fan
      @beaslad

Easily. Utah was an 11.5 point favorite and ESPN predicter gave ASU 12 percent chance to win. lol. I’ve been saying it for 20 years: Utah basketball is broken beyond repair. Do we even win a game next year in the B12? Spoiler alert – we don’t.

AZUTE
        Ute Fan
        @azute

Harlan went rouge and hired his guy(Smith)when he could’ve had Alex Jensen or Jonnie Bryant both whom would have been better.

A week ago Utah was all but guaranteed an ncaa tournament bid. A week later it’s all but gone.

Another year of Smith only prolongs the program’s downfall

homer
          Ute Fan
          @homer

Alex said no.

AZUTE
            Ute Fan
            @azute

He was all but hired to be Utah’s next head Coach when Harlan and another big money donor went in another direction.

The contract was drawn up and just needed to be signed. Alex was in a very solid position with the Utah Jazz at the time and was considered an up and coming HC candidate in the NBA.

i.e. The timing wasn’t great but make no mistake Alex was the first choice.

Those considerations have cooled a bit and Asst Coach in Dallas is not his ideal.

He’d be very attainable right now if Harlan fired Smith tomorrow.

Along with Jonnie Bryant who openly campaigned for the job.

1 1

The Miami Ute
      Ute Fan
      @themiamiute